Adventure in Gratitude Day 28

Knitting.

I’m not great at it. I’m fine at it. I can accomplish a few things. I know two whole stitches.

I’ve been trying to knit the same hat for over a week. I kept inadvertently knitting mobius strips. Even when I had knit rows and rows. Even when everything was going just fine, I’d suddenly have a calculus problem on my hands. Knitting had always been so calming, and here I was crying over how I barely passed Mr. Merrell’s class, because I never actually bought that TI-84. I’m not saying I was super smart. I’m only reminding you I passed that class without that fancy calculator.

I’d get 5 rows in. I’d have a math problem. I’d rip it out. The yarn would get stuck before it all unraveled, and I’d have to cut the yarn. I’d get 30 rows in. I’d have a math problem. I’d rip it out. The yarn would get stuck before it all unraveled, and I’d have to cut the yarn. I’d get 10 rows in. I’d have a math problem. I’d rip it out. The yarn would get stuck before it all unraveled, and I’d have to cut the yarn. This happened six times, before I bought new yarn. It still happened two more times. I stayed up until 1:30 last night finishing the hat. I hate the hat. But I did it.

Once it was fully underway, I was gone. I had no thoughts. I kept telling myself (and the cat), “one more row, and then we’ll go to bed.” Forty rows later, I was zen. I fell asleep without issue.

I will knit another hat tonight.

Leave a Reply

