Adventure in Gratitude Day 20

Understanding.

When you walk away from a job, you hope the people in your life will be supportive and understanding of your choices. When you’ve been threatened, harassed, hurt too many (which is any) times at things and you need to step away for a while, you hope the people in your life will be supportive and understanding. When you cry during a new Harry Potter movie because you feel so understood, you hope the person you’re crying on will be supportive and understanding.

I’m so grateful to know that most of the time that is the case.  That I am supported and understood. That when I’m not, the people in my life don’t dismiss me. They ask questions. They make sincere attempts to understand. They offer shoulders and ears.

Last night, I did cry through most of Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, and not just from excruciating cramps. I cried because, once again JK understood. She heard those cries of the silenced and found a way to portray that in a beautiful,  heart-breaking, fun story. And I cried on the arm, shoulder, chest of the man next to me. He let me. He heard me broken by it. He listened to me relating the understanding. He understood my feeling understood.

Some things are so subtle. So safe. So important.

Leave a Reply

