Adventure in Gratitude Day 9

This was my plan regardless of outcome.

I’ll be honest. I’m terrified right now. I’m terrified for people like my incredibly kind downstairs neighbors, who happened to be Muslim and immigrants. I’m terrified for my friends of the LGBTQ+ community. I’m terrified for my neighbors who are refugees. I’m terrified for my neighbors who are immigrants. I’m terrified for victims of sexual violence. I’m terrified for people of color. We’re in a scary place, and we do not yet know what the future holds. We do not know.

With that.

A couple of weeks ago I, bent over still in pain, went to a government building. I waited in line as the man in front of me mansplained voting to his wife and daughter. I held my head up as high as it could go. I talked to the kind older woman who appreciated my Rosie the Riveter style bandana. I walked to my voting booth. Without hesitation and with pure pride I pushed the button for Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton. Tears filled my eyes as I did.

Indiana goes red. Indiana will always go red, but I still voted for a main party candidate who was also a woman. That’s an important thing to still celebrate. That’s an important thing to still be proud of. I’m not ashamed of my vote. I’m not ashamed of what I stand for. I’m not ashamed to be a woman. I’m proud. I’m so very proud.

14600897_722073697899_646950876889528971_n

Leave a Reply

