Adventure in Lists, Day 4

My apologies. Yesterday, I was busy doing not this, so I must admit I neglected my list. I made up for it today though by doing two lists.

So first the important one. This one has been a long time coming. This one is essential.

Every summer since the Summer of Fox Mulder I watch X-Files. This year I made Jared and Rachel, and some times Dan, watch with me. We’re dragging ass right now, but I think friendship is almost more important. Almost.

Top ten episodes of X-Files:

10. Triangle (s6e3)
I love it because Scully is, like Topanga in the 50s, all snarky and sassy because it’s the 40s. Time travel somehow makes tv women more outspoken than they are in the present. It doesn’t make sense. Plus. Lone Gunmen. Plus Mulder hates Nazis. Just. I like it. Ok?

9. Three of a Kind (s6ep20)/Jump the Shark (s9ep15)

Ok. I’m one of those people who watched The Lone Gunmen.

Three of a Kind. Drugged Scully is a goof. A GOOF.
Jump the Shark is important to me because it’s the final love to the boys.

8. The Goldberg Variation (s7ep6)

I love this one because all this guy wants is to win exactly the right amount of money just to help one boy.

7. Drive (s6ep2)

Bryan Cranston. K? Bryan Cranston in a car with Fox Mulder. The whole episode. You’re welcome.

6. Dreamland/Dreamland II (s6ep4/5)

Outside of the magic of a rock and lizard existing in the exact same space and time, Mulder switching places with Michael McKean, smarmy, smarmy Michael McKean. I love it.

5. How the Ghosts Stole Christmas (s6ep6)

Lily Tomlin and Ed Asner as ghosts trying to convince Mulder and Scully to kill each other. Good stuff.

4. Musings of a Cigarette Smoking Man (s4ep7)

This back story is so a part of my brain that some times I think this man is culpable for real things.

3. Clyde Bruckman’s Final Repose (s3ep4)

This story is so melancholy and still so light-hearted. It’s how I feel most days, and I love that this so perfectly reflects my mood.

2. The Unnatural (s6ep19)

I know this is Duchovny’s baby, and that it hardly holds to character development, but I love it. I love the interactions. I love that it hardly even touches on Mulder and Scully. I love the final scene. I love the rice cream. I love it.

1. The Field Where I Died (s5ep5)

This episode. I want this to be how it works. There are people in my life who I think maybe this is how it works. I love it, and it exhausts me.

Honorable mentions:
Syzygy (s3ep13)
Field Trip (s6ep21)
First Person Shooter (s7ep13)
Chigna (s5ep10)
All Souls (s5ep17)
The Post-Modern Prometheus (s5ep5)

And now for something completely different.

Top Ten Fictional Bears:
10. Yogi Bear
9. Grumpy Bear (don’t tell my mom I watched Care Bears)
8. Rupert
7. Gummi Bears
6. Paddington Bear
5. Mrs. Emily Bear (Fozzie’s mom)
4. Baloo (Jungle Book and TaleSpin)
3. The Berenstain Bears
2. Fozzie Bear
1. Winnie-the-Pooh

Leave a Reply

