Adventure in Knowing me

I’ve been thinking about the things that impact my brain and the things I say. Movies, stories, music, all that. So I’m making some lists. First up we have the 50 movies you should see to better understand me. These aren’t necessarily my favorite movies; they’re just the ones that have helped make me me. In no particular order.

01. Clue

“Communism was just a red herring.”

02. Jaws

“Well, if we’re looking for a shark we’re not gonna find him on the land.”

03. E.T. The Extraterrestrial

03. E.T. The Extraterrestrial

“You could be happy here, I could take care of you. I wouldn’t let anybody hurt you. We could grow up together, E.T”

04. Jurassic Park

” If the Pirates of the Caribbean breaks down, the pirates don’t eat the tourists.”

05. Adam

“Feeling loved is very important, but loving, my precious girl, that’s the necessity.”

06. Midnight in Paris

“No subject is terrible if the story is true, if the prose is clean and honest, and if it affirms courage and grace under pressure.”

07. A Muppet Family Christmas

“I don’t care if the turkey says the dog is the turkey. The dog is not the turkey. The turkey’s the turkey, you turkey!”

08. The Last Chance Detectives

“Yeah, well go ahead and laugh. But I’m telling the truth. And if you were any kind of Sheriff you’d be out there, looking for evidence, instead of sitting here, eating donuts and getting fat!”

09. Harriet the Spy

“There are as many ways to live in this world as there are people in this world, and each one deserves a closer look.”

10. Batman Returns

“The heat’s getting to me. I’ll murder you momentarily. But first, I could really use a cool drink of ice water.”

11. Blackbeard’s Ghost

“By thunder! This raises my blood! There be a time for action! Hang on old ladies, Blackbeard’s coming! Up the Jolly Roger!”

12. Close Encounters of the Third Kind

“I know this sounds crazy, but ever since yesterday on the road, I’ve been seeing this shape. Shaving cream, pillows… Dammit! I know this. I know what this is! This means something. This is important.”

13. The Royal Tenenbaums

“I always wanted to be a Tenenbaum.”

14. Dick Tracy

“I know how you feel. You don’t know if you want to hit me or kiss me. I get a lot of that.”

15. Driving Lessons

“I’m a woman, Leland. Not an oil-tanker.”

16. Pee-wee’s Big Adventure

“I’m a loner, Dottie. A rebel.”

17. Edward Scissorhands

“You see, before he came down here, it never snowed. And afterwards, it did. If he weren’t up there now… I don’t think it would be snowing. Sometimes you can still catch me dancing in it.”

18. Fantastic Mr. Fox

“There’s a lot of attitudes going on around here… don’t let me get one.”

19. Little Giants

“I call it ‘The Annexation of Puerto Rico.”

20. Stand By Me

“Yeah, by the time we get there, the kid won’t even be dead anymore.”

21. Newsies

“Headlines don’t sell papes. Newsies sell papes.”

22. Indiana Jones trilogy

“Archaeology is the search for fact… not truth. If it’s truth you’re looking for, Dr. Tyree’s philosophy class is right down the hall.”

23. Star Wars trilogy

“Sir, the possibility of successfully navigating an asteroid field is approximately 3,720 to 1.” “Never tell me the odds.”

24. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

“You’re not dying. You just can’t think of anything better to do.”

25. Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium

“I fell so completely in love with these shoes, I bought enough pairs to last my whole lifetime. This is my last pair.”

26. Peter Pan

“Goodness gracious whatever shall we do?!”

27. The Little Mermaid

“Betcha on land they understand; that they don’t reprimand their daughters.”

28. Aladdin

“But when I’m way up here it’s crystal clear that now I’m in a whole new world with you.”

29. The Muppet Movie

“It’s a good thing frogs can hop or I’d be gone with the Schwinn.”

30. Breakfast Club

“Could you describe the ruckus?”

31. Pretty in Pink

“You said you couldn’t be with someone who didn’t believe in you. Well I believed in you. I just didn’t believe in me. I love you… always.”

32. Reality Bites

“Turn it up. You won’t regret it.”

33. The Sandlot

“I don’t know. Some lady gave it to him. She even signed her name on it.Some lady named… Ruth. Baby Ruth.”

34. 10 Thing I Hate About You

“Romantic? Hemingway? He was an abusive, alcoholic misogynist who squandered half of his life hanging around Picasso trying to nail his leftovers.”

35. Scream

“My mom and dad are gonna be so mad at me.”

36. Stranger than Fiction

“Everyone thinks about leaping off a building.”

37. The United States of Leland

“I think there are two ways you can see the world. You either see the sadness that’s behind everything or you choose to keep it all out.”

38. Bedknobs and Broomsticks

“You must face the age of not believing, doubting everything you ever knew. Until at last, you start believing there’s something wonderful in you!”

39. The Land Before Time

“Three horns do not play with long necks.”

40. Memento

“I have this condition.”

41. Winnie-the-Pooh and the Blustery Day

“Oh, hello. Am I glad to see you. It’s more friendly with two. Now, you go that way, and I’ll go this way.”

42. Follow That Bird

“Gee. There’s still no sign of Sesame Street. Nothing but amber waves of grain. I think I’m lost. What’ll I do? I wish Snuffy were here. Then I’d be lost with my best friend.”

43. Men in Black

“We’re not hosting an intergalactic kegger down here.”

44. Fox and the Hound

“I’m a hound dog!”

45. Mean Girls

“Cause she’s a life ruiner. She ruins people’s lives.”

46. Big Fish

“Truth is, I’ve always been thirsty.”

47. Now and Then

“Your parents aren’t always right.”

48. Psycho

“A boy’s best friend is his mother.”

49. Ernest Scared Stupid

“I never knew when to quit. Just ask my fourth grade teacher.”

50. Mystery Men

“I shovel well. I shovel very well.”

And now we all know why I’m so strange.

Leave a Reply

